Week 8: List Your Favorite Quotes

“La Dolce Vita” – This isn’t necessarily a quote but it is an Italian saying that means “The Sweet Life”. Simply, this reminds me how blessed and sweet my life really is. It keeps me level headed and able to remember how wonderful my life really is despite any hardships I may be facing. I have wanted this tattooed on my body for a very long time. It is so near and dear to my heart.

“As you grow older, you will discover that you have two hands, one for helping yourself, the other for helping others”. – Audrey Hepburn.  : This quote is from my favorite celebrity. Audrey was all about helping others and just giving back to those in need. She was a Unicef ambassador and genuinely just loved serving other people. Her beauty outweighed her impact on this world which is truly sad. This quote reminds me that sometimes it is so easy to use what we have for ourselves but we have two of everything, so we might as well share with those who don’t. I strive to be as generous and humble as she was despite all her fame.

“As iron sharpens iron, so one person sharpens another.”– Proverbs 27:17.  This is one of my favorite scriptures from the Bible. The bible discusses so much about loving one another and sharing our joy and burdens. We need other people to sharpen us and make us better people. We need people to hold us accountable to Christ. You can’t follow Christ alone. Even outside Biblical context, this verse can still be used in the secular world. People change us. People help sculpt other people and it is so amazing to know we have that type of impact. This verse really gets to my soul.

I have never really been a huge “quote person” per say besides verses from the Bible because I am a cheesy Christian but my challenge for you readers is to reveal some quotes whether that be scripture or not, that really mean something to you. Recite them daily. Make them apparent in your everyday life. Have a constant reminder of those things that change you. Strive to be better through re-reading those words over and over again. Share your quotes with a friend, you never know if they’ll need to hear that or not. Spread the love – Lex.

 

 

Leave a Reply

